The Basketball Classic 2022 Tournament Bracket and Teams!

The Basketball Classic Tournament is set to debut! The TBC was founded by and it replaces the Postseason Tournament (CIT), which discontinued after the 2020 and 2021 tournaments were cancelled because of coronavirus.

The TBC was hoping to get 32 teams to fill the tournament, but they were only able to get 21 teams to accept the bid to play in the tournament.

The tournament will begin today (March 15), with the semifinals being played on March 29 and the championship game being played on March 31. It’s a single elimination tournament and all games will be televised on ESPN+. The Basketball Classic will use the old NIT model where the field and matchups will be set after each round.

Since there’s an odd number of teams, the Wofford Terriers (19-13) will get a first round bye.

The First Round matchups:

UTEP (19-13) will host Western Illinois (16-15)

Portland (18-14) will host New Orleans (18-13)

Florida Gulf Coast (21-11) will host Detroit Mercy (14-15)

South Alabama (19-11) will host Southeastern Louisiana (19-14)

UMBC (18-14) will host Merrimack (14-16)

Appalachian State (19-14) will host USC Upstate (14-16)

Coastal Carolina (16-13) will host Maryland East Shore (11-15)

Fresno State (19-13) will host Eastern Washington (18-15)

Southern Utah (20-11) will host Kent State (23-10)

Youngstown State (18-14) will host Morgan State (13-14)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s