The NIT Has Downsized To 16 Teams

The National Invitation Tournament (NIT) will look a little different this year, much like everything else.

The tournament has downsized to 16 teams this year from the normal 32 teams.

In previous years, the games would be played at the campus site of the higher seed until the Final Four. The two Final Four games and the NIT National Championship game would be played in New York at Madison Square Garden.

However, every game in the 2021 NIT Tournament will be played at the UNT Coliseum on the campus of the University of North Texas in Denton, Texas.

The other notable change for the 2021 NIT: in years past, the regular season conference champion gets an automatic bid into the NIT if they failed to win the conference tournament and failed to get an At-Large Bid in the NCAA Tournament. This year, with the reduced number of teams, all 16-teams will be At-Large selections, with no automatic qualifiers.

Since the 2020 NIT was canceled, the Texas Longhorns are still the defending NIT National Champions who defeated the Lipscomb Bisons in the 2019 title game.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s