Wisconsin Badgers Are Duke’s Mayo Bowl Champions

The Wisconsin Badgers (4-3) are champions of the Duke’s Mayo Bowl after defeating the Wake Forest Demon Deacons (4-5) at Bank of America Stadium in Charlotte, North Carolina by a final of 42-28!

Say what you want about the 2020 Wisconsin football team, but the Badgers are the first ever Duke’s Mayo Bowl champs. Historic season in Madison.

It was a great ending to the strangest of seasons. UW keeps the axe with the overtime win over Minnesota a couple weeks ago and then finish strong with a bowl win. Standing ovation to the guys for fighting through everything and making the most out of a crazy year.

It was an ugly first quarter for UW after trailing 14-0, but then mostly dominated the rest of the game.

On Wake Forest’s first two possessions of the game in the first quarter, the Demon Deacons rolled up 136 yards and two touchdowns on 15 plays with an average of 9.1 yards per play, while converting 4-of-4 third down conversions.

Their last 12 full series: 5.3 yards per play, 3-for-12 on third down and one score when it mattered.

Wisconsin is now 5-1 in bowl games under head Coach Paul Chryst and 10-9 in their 19-consecutive seasons of bowl games.

Wisconsin finishes the frustrating and tumultuous 2020 season at 4-3, which is the 19th consecutive winning season for the program.

With an uncertain offseason and the best recruiting class (2021 class) coming in with the potential of seniors returning, I believe the Badgers will be just fine in 2021.

Cheers to the goat! ⬇️

One comment

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s